Log in

Log in

Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching

The Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) are the highest honors bestowed by the United States government specifically for K-12 STEM teachers (science, technology, engineering, mathematics, and/or computer science). The awards were established by Congress in 1983. The President may recognize up to 108 exemplary teachers each year from the 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, The Department of Defense Education Activity schools, or the U.S. Territories as a group (American Samoa, Guam, Nothern Mariana Islands, and U.S. Virgin Islands).

The PAEMST award recognizes teachers who have both a deep content knowledge of the subjects they teach and the ability to motivate and enable students to be successful. Awardees reflect the expertise and dedication of the Nation’s teaching core and demonstrate the positive impact of excellent teachers on student achievement. Detailed information about the award and selection process can be found at the PAEMST website.

State PAEMST Coordinators conduct their state’s PAEMST activities. This includes promoting awareness of PAEMST, as well as overseeing recruitment, mentoring, selection, recognition, and engagement activities throughout the year. Many ASSM members are PAEMST coordinators and many are previous PAEMST awardees and state finalists.

ASSM’s Role in the Presidential Awards Program

The National Science Foundation (NSF) administers PAEMST on behalf of The White House Office of Science and Technology Policy. ASSM is a subcontractor along with the Council of State Science Supervisors. Diana Kasbaum serves as the ASSM PAEMST program coordinator and is the primary contact for PAEMST state mathematics coordinators.

PAEMST Awardees and PAEMST State Finalists

Find PAEMST Awardees from each state and jurisdiction here.

PAEMST Mathematics State Finalists:

·   2024 PAEMST State Finalists

·   Mathematics State Finalist Archive (2013-2023)

ASSM Member Awardees

ASSM is proud to have so many current, associate, and emeritus members who have had the distinguished recognition of the Presidential Award. See all ASSM Member Awardees here.

     For additional information about PAEMST:

     Mathematics program support, contact Diana Kasbaum at

     PAEMST website:

      Visit on Facebook: NSF  
       Follow on Twitter: NSF | #paemst
       Email the PAEMST team:

    Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software